Lab Personnel

Personnel – Amherst

Dr. Elizabeth Vierling  – Principal Investigator  – Rm 329N LSL

Administrative Assistant

Rebecca Fricke – Rm 335N LSL


Postdoctoral Researchers – 340N LSL

Minsoo Kim – Mitochondrial mTERF protein involved in heat stress tolerance of Arabidopsis.

Damian Guerra – PhD University of California, Davis, CA.  The role of Glutathione-S-Nitroso Reductase in plant biology.

Dr. Fionn McLoughlin –  PhD The role of Heat shock protein 101 in the acquired thermotolerance of Arabidopsis thaliana

Dr. Indu Santhanagoplan  – PhD Indian Institute of Science, India. Interaction of sHSPs with substrates in vivo and in vitro using crosslinking approaches.

Post-Doctoral Candidate:

Keith Ballard – Small heat shock proteins (sHSPs) and related vertebrate α-crystallins are a ubiquitous class of ATP-independent molecular chaperones with a monomeric molecular mass of 12-42 kDa.


Jesse Arnault – Fall ’15 Lab Assistant

Dan Bereznyakov
– I am investigating the role translation elongation factor eEF1Bγ during heat stress in Arabidopsis thaliana.

Samuel Del’Olio – Lab Assistant

Mary Fowler Localizing HSP101 in Arabidopsis root cells after heat stress, identifying the genes and mechanisms behind SHOT mutant’s ability to survive heat stress despite having non-functioning HSP101 proteins.

Chirag Mehta – Mechanisms and functions of small heat-shock proteins (SHSPs) in synechocystis cyanobacteria.

Ian Truebridge – Summer, Fall ’15 Lab Assistant